TCPPA Scholarship

The Twin Cities PPA Scholarship

-- Past Scholarship Recipients --

TCPPA David Award

The David Award is an Award that is presented a TCPPA Member for their Service to The Twin Cities Professional Photographers Association. It is given to honor the recipients dedication to the TCPPA with their volunteer efforts of serving on the TCPPA Board, assisting at Events and other duties that enable the TCPPA provide the best possible programming and benefits to it's members.

The TCPPA Outstanding Service Award was first presented in 1996 to Jim and Dorothy Staples for their tireless contributions to the TCPPA. The Board of Directors voted that the award, hence known as The Staples Award, may be given annually to recognize service to the organization above and beyond the call of duty. The recipient of the Staples Award need not be a photographer. This award has been given yearly since its inception, with few exceptions.

While reviewing past recipients of the Staples award there appeared a glaring omission; there also appeared a coincidental consistency. The omission we will address in a bit. The consistency we will recognize now.

There are three gentlemen with us tonight, all of them past recipients of The Staples Award. All of them have given selflessly to the TCPPA and have set a precedent of service to this association. Between them, they have served as TCPPA Board members, presided as President, newsletter editor, built and maintained the TCPPA data base and website, judged print competitions, given programs and seminars, and have always welcomed new members and new friends with open arms. You could literally and figuratively say that they would be willing to give the hair on top of their heads for the TCPPA membership and its cause. One other consistency that binds these three gentlemen is the fact that they all share the same moniker.

In August of 2007 the TCPPA Board unanimously voted to rename The Staples Award in their honor. The Staples Award shall from now on be known as The David Award honoring David Grupa, David Johnson and David Jones.

-- Past Service Award Recipients --

"Twin Cities Professional Photography Association" is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. Copyright 2017 TCPPA all rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software